521 North Adams Street, Tallahassee FL  32301
Client Login
Office: 850-422-3427     24/7:  850-528-2400    Fax: 786-347-7471
Office: 850-422-3427     24/7:  850-528-2400    Fax: 786-347-7471
Criminal Lawyer, Trial Lawyer, Sex Crimes, best criminal attorney, best criminal defense attorney
Call us for a Consultation
annabelle tallahassee, DUI attorney tallahassee, appeal tallahassee, appeals tallahassee, criminal
Jason Ross, Esq.
Avvo - Rate your Lawyer. Get Free Legal Advice.
controlled substance, florida attorneys, florida lawyers, best avvo rating
Questions about your rights?
anabelle diaz attorney, anabelle dias attorney, annabel diaz, anabelle attorney, anabelle tallahasse
Anabelle Dias, Esq.
Avvo - Rate your Lawyer. Get Free Legal Advice.
Legal Defense
Available 24/7

About the Area

Domestic violence charges in Florida are extremely prevalent, as these charges can center on any of several specific courses of conduct, including simple assault, battery, aggravated assault and battery or even rape and murder. Statistics show that over 125,000 cases of domestic violence are reported every year in Florida.

If you have been charged with a domestic offense, you need to understand your rights. Anabelle Dias P.A. is a firm with years of experience in handling these types of offenses for clients, and the best course of action you can take if you have been arrested and charged with a domestic offense is to contact the firm for a consultation. Anabelle Dias P.A. offers affordable and flexible payment plans and scheduling options, as the most important thing for you is to obtain representation and to assert your rights as soon as possible.

Domestic Violence Laws in Florida Defined:

"Domestic violence" means any assault, aggravated assault, battery, aggravated battery, sexual assault, sexual battery, stalking, aggravated stalking, kidnapping, false imprisonment, or any criminal offense resulting in physical injury or death of one family or household member by another family or household member.

Domestic Violence Sentencing Requirements in Florida:

There are minimum sentencing requirements involved with any conviction of domestic violence, and the least severe, as defined in the statutes is as follows:

If a person is adjudicated guilty of a crime of domestic violence and the person has intentionally caused bodily harm to another person, the court shall order the person to serve a minimum of 5 days in the county jail as part of the sentence imposed, unless the court sentences the person to a non-suspended period of incarceration in a state correctional facility. This section does not preclude the court from sentencing the person to probation, community control, or an additional period of incarceration.

All of this should be taken to mean several things to any defendant in a domestic violence criminal case:

  1. If convicted, you could face a lengthy prison term;
  2. Domestic violence can be a part of almost any violent crime indictment;
  3. Public policy demands that courts are harsh in their sentences towards those convicted of domestic violence;

Overall, this should also mean that if you are arrested and charged with a domestic violence crime, you still may face additional criminal charges depending on the circumstances of your case. The best way to handle this is to contact Anabelle Dias P.A. as soon as possible for a full consultation. The attorneys at the firm are available 24 hours per day, and the firm understands that certain arrangements may need to be made in order for you to be able to afford the representation you deserve. The worst thing you can do is hesitate - contact the firm today.